Backline: How to Create Group Chats

This article provides instructions for setting up Group Chats with supported devices, followed by important notes.

Please select how you access Backline:

Create Group Chats on the Web

Step 1: Select the Groups tab from the top toolbar.

mceclip1.png

(click to enlarge)

Step 2: Select the Plus icon at the bottom-left corner of the page, then click Create Group in the window that appears.

mceclip0.png

(click to enlarge)

Step 3: Give your group a Name and write a brief Description of the group (optional). Click Create once you're done.

  • You can check the Private checkbox to make your group chat private.
  • Add members by typing in their names in the New members field.

mceclip2.png

(click to enlarge)

Create Group Chats on IOS

Step 1: Select the three-dot icon in the top right corner of the Recent screen

mceclip3.png

(click to enlarge)

Step 2: Select the Group Chat option

mceclip4.png

(click to enlarge)

Step 3: Select the Plus icon to create a new Group Chat

mceclip5.png

(click to enlarge)

Step 4: Give your group a Name and write a brief Topic for the group (optional).

  • You can select the Privacy toggle to make your group chat private (Invite Only).

mceclip0.png

(click to enlarge)

Select Next.

Step 5: Search for and add members to your group.

Select Done to begin chatting.

mceclip8.png

(click to enlarge)

Create Group Chats on Android

Step 1: Select the Plus icon in the lower right corner of the Recent screen

mceclip9.png

(click to enlarge)

Step 2: Select the Groups Chat option

mceclip10.png

(click to enlarge)

Step 3: Select the Plus icon to create a new Group Chat

mceclip11.png

(click to enlarge)

Step 4: Give your group a Name and write a brief Topic for the group (optional).

  • You can select the Privacy toggle to make your group chat private (Invite Only).

Select Done.

mceclip13.png

(click to enlarge)

Step 5: Search for and add members to your group.

Select Done to begin chatting.

mceclip13.png

(click to enlarge)

Important Notes about Ad Hoc Groups

Leaving a group permanently cuts your ties to the chat content of that group.

  • If you Leave an Ad hoc group, the chat no longer shows in Group and Recent screens.
    • If you create a new chat in the future with the same group of users, the prior chat history will not transfer.
  • If you do not Leave an Ad hoc group, the chat will expire in 7 days and no longer show in Group and Recent screens.
    • If a new chat is created with the same group of users, the prior chat history will display.
Was this article helpful?
1 out of 3 found this helpful